Russia Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.7
 Rooms  4.8
 Cleanliness  5.0
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.8
 Service & Staff  5.0
 Food / Dining  4.7
 Total  4.8

"Backpacker Republic St. Petersburg"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Marita B. of Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed:   September 6, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2013     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staff were wonderful ......helpful, friendly, always prepared to "go the extra mile " for their guests. The hostel itself is somewhat cramped with small bar stools in the small kitchen and the only sitting area three child sized beanbags against the wall in the entrance room.

"Backpacker's Republic St. Petersburg"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Heather S. of Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 28, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Had a great time, hostel is really new but the staff are super friendly and helpful and even cook breakfast!! Had a great time! :)

"4 days stay in St Petersburg"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Marie B. of france, France
Reviewed:   August 26, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2013     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My stay at Backpacker's Republic was perfect, I have no complains. It was clean, colourful, lively, the room was big. The kitchen was very nice with senetnces written by the guests on the walls and where people used to gather to talk with the other guests. The location is good and it is easy to go to the city center by foot. Finally the staff are very friendly and helpful: they can help for obtaining the visa, with city direction, things to see/do in St Petersburg....

"Very nice place to stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Ivan K. of Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Reviewed:   August 24, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It is a very friendly and quiet place to stay in the center of Saint-Petersburg!

"Highly recommended"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Aaron C. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 19, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2013     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My Girlfriend and I stayed in the private double room and we have to say, the experience exceeded all our expectations! Despite being in the same price bracket as a 3star hotel, all areas of this little trendy hostel surpass all hotels of this class with ease.

The general décor of the whole hostel & our room was modern, colourful and very clean. Our room itself was very cosy & there was a very comfortable double bed. The location of the hostel was very central and close to the main street and attractions! (much more closer than any mentioned hotels you’ll be able to find. And we researched it thoroughly)

The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming and they certainly have enough facilities to accommodate (also very clean) all who stay there. My girlfriend and I give our experience there all our thumbs up and we definitely recommend this little gem to anyone who’s visiting St. Petersburg! We’re telling all our friends!

p.s. if you’re going during the summer months, do ask the staff about anti-mosquito tablets and plug ins, you'll need it. (they provide them free of charge)

"Great little hostel"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Sylvain P. of Hyogo, Japan
Reviewed:   August 11, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This little hostel opened up rather recently and is in dire need of some publicity.

I stayed there for a few nights and enjoyed it quite a bit. By no means a party hostel, it suited my needs perfectly. Some noisy roomies, but that's no one's fault.

The place was clean and well maintained. Beds were ok and pretty solid (wood as opposed to cheap metal), and the common area while small was cozy. It never felt too cramped nor too ridiculously over booked as with the place I stayed at in Moscow.

Security is a little iffy. Essentially you can't really lock/unlock the front door from the outside, so if you happen to stay out late you will have to wake up the staff sleeping in a small room near the door when you want to come back.

24 hour service is not necessary, but having a clear idea of curfews and such would be appreciated.

The location is no better or worse than that of most hostels in larger Russian cities. Not the most tourist friendly location, but there is nothing particularly wrong with that. Besides, Russia isn't the most tourist friendly place you'll visit anyway.

You'll find most of what you need around the hostel within a few minutes of walking.

The staff could be a little more knowledgeable about the neighourhood itself, I guess. They know more than enough about the city and its main attractions, but the surrounding area could use a little fleshing out.

Lastly, the staff was awesome. Helpful, friendly and welcoming. They made the stay great and I am very happy to suggest their hostel to everyone.

"great hostel"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Claudio S. of MILANO, Italy
Reviewed:   August 1, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2013     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
small but really cozy new hostel in the centre of beautofil St Petersburg.
Very friendly and helpful staff, large dorms

"Best Hostel I'd ever stayed"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Eric YT C. of Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed:   July 23, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
After traveling in more than 30 countries across three continents, I would say that Backpacker's Republic did more than any other tens of hostels I stayed. As a foreigner without any knowledge of Russian, I encountered some issues in train/flight tickets booking while being in Russian for the first time. The hosts helped me out during the trip. In addition, the clean environment and warmth care by the hosts gave me part of unforgettable memories in St. Petersburg. I highly recommend this hostel to any backpacker to come in the future.

"Buena opción"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Federico K. of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed:   July 14, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Es recomendable
Se trata de un lugar chico pero bastante hospitalario.
Ofrecen un buen desayuno (con blinis). Hay dispenser de agua.
Es limpio. Y la administradora, Veronika, es muy amable y predispuesta.
También ofrece la posibilidad de cena.
Lo no tan bueno (pero no malo) es que la habitación en la que estuve hacía mucho calor. Y también que al no dar a la calle fue difícil encontrarlo.
Más allá de eso, como dije, se recomienda.

"In one word - EXCELLENT!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Melanie H. of Victoria, Australia
Reviewed:   July 9, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2013     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The best hostel we have stayed in during 3 months of travel! The hostel is in a great location and Veronika and Alex went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our time in St Petersburg. Would highly recommend Backpackers Republic to other travellers


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 28 reviews  Next 8 results




RussiaInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us